TOWN OF FORT ERIE INTRODUCES FAÇADE IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM FOR BIA
June 5, 2002 – Mayor Wayne Redekop on behalf of the Council for the Town of Fort Erie today announced details of the Town’s allocation of $60,000 for the community’s first façade improvement program for a business improvement area (BIA). “Council recognized the importance of façade improvement to local business. The Bridgeburg Station BIA has a membership that’s interested in making this investment. It’s the perfect partnership.”
The Façade Improvement Program provides matching funds up to $3,000 per business storefront per year. “This is extremely beneficial to our members. We have at least twenty business owners interested in participating,” explains Bob Waytena (Erie Jewellers), Chairperson of the Bridgeburg Station BIA.
In order to ensure streetscape continuity, the BIA has secured the architectural services of du Toit Allsopp Hillier, affiliate firm to Roger du Toit Architects Limited. The firm will provide professional designs for the Bridgeburg District and has similar projects to its credit: Old York Lane (Yorkville, Toronto); the Market Square (Belleville); and the Heritage Plan for the Gooderham and Worts Distillery in Toronto (a 13-acre national historic site).
“Improvements to the District make enormous sense, “ explains Mayor Redekop. “This all ties-in with Council’s commitment to encouraging businesses in our unique downtown areas. This will help drive business and enhance the experience of residents and visitors alike.”
The Bridgeburg Station BIA has 104 business members and 45 property owners. Business improvement areas are funded by their membership and their operations governed by the Ontario Municipal Act.
Waterfront and Special Projects Co-ordinator
Town of Fort Erie
905-871-1600 x 215